Inside the Mind of a Musical Doll


Crooked Bowing? Tape!
February 9, 2009, 6:16 pm
Filed under: Music

I found this awesome way to make my students bow correctly… Tape! It’s an age old trick that I never paid attention to because I didn’t think I needed it, but it works wonders! Put a piece of tape about 1/4 from the tip and 1/4 from the frog and forbid your student from shifting the bow until they pass the tape. I used this technique yesterday just to try to make my student use a full bow, and it worked! In the process, it also forced him to straighten out his bowing! Man, if I had known this before, I would have everyone put tape on their bows!


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I put tape on my bows when I stick them on Christmas presents…

Comment by jenmarie

When I saw the title, I thought you meant bowing as in, bowing for royalty or something! LOL! And I thought, wow! I guess I may not have the best bow (I am not sure, never really bowed before), but how would tape help? LOL!!!

Comment by Jane

Wow. Your magnanimous resourcefulness knows no bounds.

Comment by Alex wilson




Leave a comment